Posted on

Fitness After 40 Success with Derek Timbs

Introduction to Derek Timbs, Nurse Practitioner, Business Owner

Derek Timbs is a well-known nurse practitioner if Occupational Medicine, and part owner of Core Occupational. He still finds time to live actively and make healthful food choices even when travelling for his company! Long ago, Derek was out of shape and overweight, but he changed that! He is an inspiration to his family and business associates! I had the pleasure of interviewing him and let’s see what he has to say!

What happened to make you want to take the steps to improve your health?

 I was in all sports in High School and after my son was born on the day I graduated High School, life started. I became a Respiratory Therapist in 1992 and started working in a hospital at 18 years old. The next few years I worked 70 hours a week and had horrible eating habits. I ended up weighing right at 305 pounds at my heaviest. I was in a dysfunctional marriage and had to decide about my health and body habitus. So I lost 105 pounds and got a divorce.

What was the main goal that you wanted to achieve?

 At that time it was weight loss and overall health.

How did you determine what the best eating plan was to meet your goal?

This was the mid-90’s at that time South Beach and Atkins was the popular diet plan. However, I did get back into weight lifting and had a varied approach to diet. Now in my mid 40’s I can say I have done about every diet that has been out there. Now the best plan for myself, is a higher protein, moderate fat and lower carbs. I love meat and vegetables, with the high impact weight lifting and cardio that I do with CrossFit, this has brought me to the level I like to be at.

How did you determine what your best movement plan was to meet your goal?

 I have always loved lifting weights, however when I lost all my weight in my early 20’s I discovered a love of running also. So I balance now of how much I lift and how much I run. Running always seems to help me keep my abdominal fat down and keep my cardiovascular system in good shape. BUT my love for lifting heavy weights will also never go away.

Did you seek any outside assistance for either the eating plan or movement plan?

I have always been a guy who loves to read and never shy about talking to people in the health and fitness industry. I have done body building for a few years in my 20’s, power lifting in my 30’s and took up CrossFit in my late 30’s and still going strong with that. I actually ended up going to get my CrossFit level 1 certification just recently, very educational experience.

How did you fit your movement plan into your busy life?

I plan to do some form of exercise at least 5 days a week no matter what my travel/work plans are. I work out on vacation or business trips. I drop into CrossFit boxes (I have shirts from all over the country) or I have put 100’s of miles on Treadmills in hotels across the country. I always work out in the morning, when I do the evenings, life gets in the way, fatigue or excuses and I fail to work out consistently.

What is the most important change that you have experienced because of the changes that you made?

Quality of life. Clothes fit better, I physically & mentally feel better, blood chemistry is better, and joints feel better. This has equated to more production for work and being a better manager/owner.

Can you describe one of your typical days, including your work outs and the type of foods you are eating?

When I am home on a normal schedule I get up every morning at 4 am and go to the 5 am CrossFit class. I normally do CrossFit 4-5 days a week and run 1-2 days a week. When I run I normally run 5.5-6 miles and takes around 45-55 minutes according to how I feel. If I am traveling I may sleep a little later according the schedule, however I will get up as early as needed to fit the workout in. I have a post workout protein drink, approximately 40-50 grams of protein, 40-50 grams of carbs and zero fat. This is normally about 6:30 in the morning. Around 9 am I will have normally some type of egg and meat combination. Around 20-30 grams of protein, 10-15 grams of fat and less then 5 grams of carbs. Lunch at noon, this varies, due to work and travel, however normal would be some type of meat and veggie combination. 2-3 pm I will have a cup of coffee and some type of protein bar/almond type snack. Dinner is normally around 5-5:30 and is the same size and consistency as lunch. Then I am normally in bed no later than 9 pm because 4 pm comes early. I drink water, tea and coffee consistently during the day, I splurge from time to time with a Coke Zero.

 How would you recommend other middle-aged people to address waning health in mid life?

 Find something to do, riding a bike, hiking, swimming, hire a trainer, or just get out and walk. It is much, much cheaper to go workout then end up on multiple medications and Doctor visits. What I always tell people if they want to make a quality change in their life #1 thing they can do is NEVER eat Fast food again.

How do you plan to ensure that these plans are sustainable?

 I have lived this life now for the past 8 years, and unless I have a serious orthopedic injury I have no doubt I can sustain this for the next 20 years. The miles may be shorter, and the weights may be lighter, however I have no desire to stop.

 As you can see, Derek is able to include his lifestyle changes into his life while working and enjoying his life!.

Takeaway #1:  It is NEVER too late to make changes!

Takeaway #2: You are the only one who can make these changes!

Takeaway #3:  Finding the BEST exercise for makes it enjoyable and sustainable! 

If you would like help finding your BEST exercise and diet plan, you are in luck. Purchase my book Second Chance at Health- Learn to Love Active Living and Clean Eating and I will help you!

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *